Google Chrome: "Your organization will manage this profile" message

Tags google chrome

When signing in to your Michigan Tech email account, you may receive a pop-up message in Google Chrome that says:

Your organization will manage this profile

This account ([account name]@mtu.edu) is managed by mtu.edu

You’re adding a managed profile to this browser. Your administrator has control over the profile and can access its data. Bookmarks, history, passwords, and other settings can be synced to your account and managed by your administrator.

Why am I receiving this? How do I stop the pop-up from happening every time I log in? Does Michigan Tech have access to my bookmarks, history, passwords, etc.?

Resolution

To prevent the pop-up notice from appearing every time you log in to your Michigan Tech Google account in Google Chrome, choose one of the following resolutions:

Turn Sync On/Off

If you want to sync your Chrome profile across multiple devices, turn on Sync. When Sync is on, and you are signed in to Chrome, this pop-up will no longer appear.

If you don't want to sync your Chrome profile across multiple devices, turn off Sync. When Sync is off, and you are signed in to Chrome, this pop-up will no longer appear. Google has instructions on now to turn Sync on and off in Chrome.

If you choose to sync your profile (i.e., turn sync ON), you will have the same bookmarks, history, and passwords available to you any time you sign in to Chrome on any device

  • Keep in mind that data is accessible to anyone who may log in as you.
  • This is one of many reasons why using a strong password and Duo 2-factor authentication is critical to protecting your privacy.
  • Learn more about the university's data policies.

Use Guest Mode

If you don't want to sign in to a Chrome profile at all, the only way to do this is to use Guest mode every time you browse. However, you will need to sign into Gmail/Google Drive every time you use Chrome. Learn more about how to browse Chrome as a guest.

Important: Michigan Tech does NOT have access to, view or manage your bookmarks, browsing history, passwords, or any other information stored in your Chrome profile. The information in the pop-up is misleading.

Additional Information

WHEN the pop-up appears

The pop-up appears when you sign in to your Michigan Tech Google account (via Gmail, Google Drive, etc.) using the desktop Google Chrome browser version 102 or newer outside of an existing Google Chrome profile, Guest profile, or the profile creation flow. Read more on Google Chrome profiles.

The pop-up started appearing for Michigan Tech users in late May/early June 2022 when Google Chrome for desktop version 102 was released. The notice may also appear on other Chromium-based browsers such as Microsoft Edge, Brave, Opera, etc.

WHY the pop-up appears

Google's information about the update says:

"Chrome 102 brings better separation between personal and enterprise-managed data. When the user signs into a managed account, they will have the option to either keep existing browsing data separate, or merge it with the managed account. By default, the data is kept separate, so a new profile will be created. Or, if they choose, they can merge the existing profile into the managed account. This prevents inadvertent sharing of personal data with work accounts. The Managed Accounts Sign Restriction policy can be used to hide the checkbox altogether, allowing admins to force users to create a separate work profile."

No policies or configurations have been changed. Google, not Michigan Tech, made this language change. The pop-up tries to make it clearer to you (as the user) that you are using Google Chrome via a Google account managed by Michigan Technological University. Please note:

  • Michigan Tech does NOT manage your Chrome usage in any way.
  • The pop-up gives you the option to create a new profile for your Michigan Tech  account to avoid merging bookmarks, history, and passwords if you choose to do so.

Michigan Tech and your Chrome data

The information in the pop-up is misleading. MTU does NOT have access to, view or manage your bookmarks, browsing history, passwords, or any other information stored in your Chrome profile. The only information MTU receives when you sign in to a Chrome profile is your email address, your operating system (OS), OS version, and the date/time you first and last synced the profile. Please note:

  • This information is not monitored.
  • The only management controls that MTU has are the ability to sign you out of the profile on that specific device, which would only ever occur in the event of a security breach (such as a lost or stolen device).

For additional assistance, contact the IT at it-help@mtu.edu or call 906-487-1111.

Was this helpful?
0 reviews

Details

Article ID: 144313
Created
Fri 6/17/22 11:52 AM
Modified
Fri 6/17/22 11:52 AM